Wednesday 9 October is the deadline to nominate your real-life heroes for next year’s ‘112 Awards’ Ceremony, which will again take place in the Latvian capital of Riga on 1 April 2020.

Organised by the European Emergency Number Association (EENA), each year the awards serve to honour and celebrate incredible rescues and inspirational acts by members of the emergency services and the general public.

There are three award categories: • Emergency Control Room Achievement • Extraordinary Call Taker/Dispatcher • Open Category

Check out the category guidelines for more information. The deadline to submit nominations for the #112Awards2020 is Wednesday 9 October 2019. In the meantime, check out the winners of the 112 Awards Ceremony 2019.

In 2012 Ireland’s Will Carolan, an Emergency Medical Controller with the HSE Ambulance Service, won the Outstanding Call-Taker award for his part in securing the rescue of an injured Irishman stranded in Greenland on 5 May 2011.  

Will Carolan received his award from Dieter Nuessler, vice-chair of the EENA Advisory Board, in April 2012 in Riga. Latvia.
EENA is a Brussels-based NGO, which was set up in 1999 dedicated to promoting high-quality emergency services reached by the number 112 throughout the EU.